My IP address blocked by Vbulletin, .htaccess or what? (long, sorry)
Von: Arnie Goetchius (arnie.goetchius@invalid.domain) [Profil]
Datum: 04.10.2009 16:37
Message-ID: <haac0g$c6o$1@news.eternal-september.org>
Newsgroup: alt.www.webmaster
Datum: 04.10.2009 16:37
Message-ID: <haac0g$c6o$1@news.eternal-september.org>
Newsgroup: alt.www.webmaster
My IP address starts with 173 and it is being blocked by a website located at http://sadoun.net/forums. I can clear cache and still can't access it. It just sits there an blinks and blinks and blinks. If I use a dial-up connection, which gives me an IP starting with 17, I can access the site with no problem. You can simulate the problem I'm having by using an anonymizer such as the-cloak.com or anonymouse.org. As reported by whatismyip.com, the-cloak uses an IP address of 216 and anonymouse uses an IP address of 193 so whatever is blocking my IP address of 173 is also blocking 193 and 216. I tried to get an answer from sadoun.net but I was never able to get their webmaster to respond to my questions. I then discussed the issue with tech support at the hosting service for sadoun.net (hostrocket.com) and they assured me that they were not blocking IPs starting with 173. They thought it might be something in the .htaccess file or something in software being used by sadoun.net I don't think it is .htaccess since that normally gives an error message like "Access Forbidden" or some such. I presume that leaves vBulletin which is the forum software used at sadoun.net/forums. I tried to ask this question on the vBulletin forum but you have to be a licensed ($$$) user to post questions there. Background: Up to about a year ago ICANN had classified 173 (and possibly 193 & 216) as a test IP and most servers would block it. At that time, 173 was released for "commercial" use and Verizon FiOS (my ISP) picked it for use with their subscribers. Perhaps there is something somewhere that is causing 173 to be treated by certain websites as a rogue (illegitimate) IP address and are just going to continue to block it. My question, finally :) , is there something in vBulletin that could be blocking access to a block of IPs such as 173, 193, 216, etc. or is there any other possible answer to this problem?[ Auf dieses Posting antworten ]
Antworten
- Arnie Goetchius (04.10.2009 16:41)
- Jerry Stuckle (04.10.2009 19:05)
- Arnie Goetchius (04.10.2009 19:37)
- Jerry Stuckle (04.10.2009 21:18)
- Viper (05.10.2009 13:25)
- Arnie Goetchius (05.10.2009 20:08)
- Jerry Stuckle (05.10.2009 20:16)
- Arnie Goetchius (05.10.2009 22:01)
- Martin Jay (05.10.2009 14:43)
- Arnie Goetchius (05.10.2009 17:53)
